Tonight’s Moon taken with Sigma 150-500mm at 500mm 1/200 at f6.3 ISO 100

Not so sure how to place the picture relative to the text wordpress seems to have done this for me so we’ll leave it as it is! I cannot insert a full stop after horizon either.

I took a few others at a lower shutter speed but was a little concerned that my trusty tripod shook just a fraction so I went for a higher shutter speed with slight underexposure as a consequence. In Camera RAW I adjusted the luminance and exposure and then went into photoshop to “black and white” the image and then to crop. The file size is only 241 kb the original being a relatively small 6.49mb whereas D3000 files are normally around 10mb. The reason for the smaller RAW file is that so much of the picture is black. It was taken at 8:23 p.m. Australian Eastern Summer Time with the moon at about 30 degrees to the horizon

The first shot  – which I have just inserted – is in colour! 1/20 second at f8 with the ISO at 100. As it was slightly overexposed when taken it seems to be easier to play with in Camera RAW, not as noisy.  After cropping and making it into a JPEG it is a 250kb file. The original RAW file is around 6.5mb. With a full frame 24mp camera the images would be decidedly sharper. I have used a Canon 5D Mark II in a studio setting a few months ago and it is mighty sharp! The D3000 used in most of my photos is an entry level camera, I bought it in December 2009 to see whether I would still be interested in pursuing photography. I bought a Sigma 10-20 and a Sigma 150-500 a few months later. Examples of the use of both are in this blog.

Two “kit” lenses were supplied with the camera as they seem to be cheaper than just a single 18-200mm. I did not know all this at the time but have probably lost a few good shots through having to change lenses, so as far as I can understand twin lens kits are probably not as much of a “feature” as we are led to believe.

A good way to learn is to study maestros like the late Henri Cartier-Bresson. The Los Angeles Times has a picture section which often has remarkable images.

Comments are closed.